This Ayurveda forum is meant to share ayurvedic information and knowledge about Ayurveda, as well as discussing everything related to the yoga lifestyle and holistic healing. We strongly recommend ayurvedic practitioners and scholars from India and all over the world to write articles on our ayurvedic blogs area, ask or answer questions, share experiences and ultimately spread the word about this wonderful “Science of life” that is Ayurveda.


No announcement yet.

Classification of tastes or Rasas as explained in ayurveda

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Classification of tastes or Rasas as explained in ayurveda

    Taste is one of the attributes of food. According to ayurvedic text books and principles of ayurveda, tastes are of six types. We all know there are 5 fundamental elements or panchamahabhutas. Each taste has combination of two fundamental elements. The combination of fundamental elements determines the qualities of respective taste or rasa.

    Here is the list of tastes and their combination.
    Madhura (sweet) = Prithvi ( earth element) + Ambu (water element)
    Amla (Sour) = Agni (Fire Element) + Prithvi ( Earth Element)
    Lavana (Salt) = Ambu (Water element) + Agni (Fire Element)
    Tikta (Bitter) =Akasha (space element ) + Vayu (air element)
    Katu (ungent or spicy) = Agni (Fire element) + Anila (Air element)
    Kashaya (Astringent) = Prithvi (earth element) + Anila (air element)

    Read article at Ayurveda Rasa
    Ayurveda help through free ayurveda consultations
Previously entered content was automatically saved. Restore or Discard.
Stick Out Tongue :p Confused :confused: Smile :) Frown :( Embarrassment :o Big Grin :D Mad :mad: Wink ;) Roll Eyes (Sarcastic) :rolleyes: Cool :cool: EEK! :eek:
Insert: Thumbnail Small Medium Large Fullsize Remove  

Please type the 2 missing letters: "s _ _re Ayurveda"